31 Days of Imperfection, God-Sighting Saturday

You’re NOT in Control! {31 Days of Imperfection – Day 4/God Sighting Saturday}

I sit at breakfast and can’t help but be annoyed.  Somehow a faucet that was perfectly fine yesterday now has a consistent…

drip.

drip.

drip.

And I think: “Isn’t this just how life goes?!?” as I recall other “drips” in life… like computer problems that have plagued the last few months: viruses, programs not working correctly, issues with internet connections.

drip.

drip.

drip.

I see the “drips” in the lives of people around me as well.  Loved ones who just can’t seem to get a break when it comes to health issues.  Others who experience one set of bad news after another.  Friends who find themselves rejected time and time again.

drip.

drip.

drip.

And, at least in my life, this constant dripping seems to scream: YOU’RE NOT GOOD ENOUGH!

I like having things in order, put together, in their place.  I like being in control and having a plan.  I like… being perfect.   As all these things continue to drip, the cup catching the water begins to fill up…. then the bowl… then the bucket… and soon even that is overflowing.  Each drop of water: a reminder I don’t have it together… I’m not in control… I’m not perfect.  Each drop: one more temptation to believe the lies of Satan, to feel like a failure, to wonder what I’m doing wrong, to try to fix it on my own, to become overwhelmed.

And occasionally, you just have to remember to empty the cup, the bowl, the bucket.

And the emptying happens…

… in tears.

sometimes we just need to literally “drip.”

in music.

“What if Your blessings come through raindrops?
What if Your healing comes through tears?
And what if a thousand sleepless nights is what it takes to know You’re near?
What if the trials of this life are your blessings in disguise?” (Blessings by Laura Story)

… in God’s Word.

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. … you are precious and honored in my sight… I love you.” (Isa. 43:2,4)

 … in a card from a friend.

You sometimes wonder… can I do this?
                 You can do all things through Christ. (Phil. 4:13)
You ask… do I have what it takes?
                 You’ve got all you need. (2 Pet. 1:3)
You question… is who I am okay?
                 You’re more than okay–You’re His. (Ps. 139:14)

Praying for you today, friend!

… in remembering:

I’m not perfect, but I am loved.
I’m not in control, but I know personally the One who is.
I can’t fix everything, but God placed me in the midst of people willing to help.
I am overwhelmed, but my God is bigger.

And as God’s voice grows louder, the annoying “drip… drip… drip” of Satan’s lies slowly fades away.

4 thoughts on “You’re NOT in Control! {31 Days of Imperfection – Day 4/God Sighting Saturday}”

Leave a comment